• Text Hover
The Name- “Trinetra”

Even before beginning to define the name of Lord Shiva, or capture his importance and relevance with Indian Culture in a book, we bow and seek his blessings. We are merely a small part of what he creates, conserves and destroys.

While that which cannot be defined is Lord Shiva, he is also called Tryambakam Deva (literally, “three-eyed Lord”), and is depicted as having three eyes: the sun is His right eye, the moon the left eye and fire the third eye. The two eyes on the right and left indicate his activity in the physical world.

The third eye in the center of the forehead symbolizes spiritual knowledge and power, and is thus called the eye of wisdom or knowledge. Like fire, the powerful gaze of Shiva’s third eye annihilates ignorance , and strikes fear into the hearts of those following an evil path.

Why “Trinetra”

India is a diverse Country with a history and culture even more diverse. We knew the journey of documenting a series of books to capture and present the culture of India would be a herculean task and would need not just inspiration and resources but immense strength to face the challenges and overcome them.

By the grace of the omnipotent and omnipresent power we have come a long way to the development of the first book in the series.

To seek blessings and to begin with, it was decided to start with the 12 Jyotirlinga shrines of Lord Shiva.

Jyotirlingam in Sanskrit means the pillar of light. It signifies places where Lord Shiva is worshipped. There are twelve (12) Jyotirlingams in India, actually, the world. Also known as the, “Dwadash Jyotirlinga”

Lord Shiva is the god of strength.



  • Text Hover